In the one comparison reported by the author, GPT-6.1 Terra took less time and cost less, while the author considered Kimi K3.1 Pro's output better. The post does not show the full prompt or test details, so it cannot establish how the two models generally perform.
Suitable for assessing: the time, cost, and subjective output assessment reported by the author in one same-prompt comparison.
Not suitable for extrapolating to: quality, speed, cost, or reliability on other tasks, or the overall relative merits of the two models.
Model versions covered: GPT-6.1 Terra and Kimi K3.1 Pro (as labeled in the post).
Test environment or client: not specified.
Reasoning level and parameters: the author says both models used the highest reasoning level available to each; the specific level names and other parameters are not specified.
The author says they tested GPT-6.1 Terra and Kimi K3.1 Pro with the same prompt, and that both used the highest reasoning level available to each at the time. The author reports the time and cost for a single run and compares the outputs in subjective terms. The post does not provide a full task description, the complete prompt, model snapshots, client or API, test harness, timing start and end points, or cost accounting method; nor does it say whether the runs were repeated. Each model's highest reasoning level does not imply the same compute budget.
| Model | Time reported by the author | Cost reported by the author | Author's subjective assessment |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kimi K3.1 Pro | 10 minutes | $1.50 | The author considered its output stronger (“cooked harder”) |
| GPT-6.1 Terra | 2 minutes | $0.20 | The author said its speed was surprising and considered its performance good at that speed |
Based on the figures in the post, Kimi took 5 times as long as Terra and cost 7.5 times as much. These ratios reflect only the values reported for this one comparison; the post provides no measurement records for independent verification.
English text in the original post: “tested both models with the same prompt at highest reasoning available” — the author says they used the same prompt and each model's highest available reasoning level.
The author reports that Kimi K3.1 Pro took 10 minutes and cost $1.50, while GPT-6.1 Terra took 2 minutes and cost $0.20.
The author's subjective assessment was that Terra was fast and performed well, while Kimi's output was better; the original post asks readers, “which one won here?”
The original post text is visible, but the full prompt is not. This article does not fill in or speculate about the task, or infer output quality from the GIF attached to the post.
This post documents one same-prompt comparison reported by the author: Terra had lower reported cost and time, while the author subjectively considered Kimi's output quality higher. The post does not disclose the complete input, test environment, model snapshots, measurement method, or results from repeated runs, so the quality assessment cannot be verified and the differences cannot be attributed to the models themselves. The models' respective highest reasoning levels also do not provide a controlled condition with equal compute. This report does not represent either model's speed, cost, or capabilities on other tasks.
Strict reproduction is not currently possible. It would require the full prompt and task materials; specified model snapshots, client or API, test harness, reasoning parameters, and timing and pricing conventions; then repeated runs at comparable compute budgets and blind evaluation against predefined criteria. This article records only the original author's report of one run and does not include independent replication.
GPT-6.1 Terra