DeepSeek V4 Pro · Official source · Vendor report
V4 Pro 0813 GA announcement dated 2026-08-13; effort, Responses API and Codex positioning; pricing effective 2026-08-16; no unified benchmark or sample.
Unverified: the original source could not be rechecked. Historical figures below are not current verified results.
DeepSeek's GA announcement explicitly positions V4-Pro as a production Agent model: it supports adjustable reasoning effort, the Responses API, and Codex. However, the announcement does not disclose independently verifiable scores, so “major upgrades” cannot be treated as a win rate.
Suitable tasks: Everyday coding Agents, complex tool calls, Codex integration, and API workflows that need reasoning depth adjusted by cost.
Unsuitable tasks: Choosing a model based only on a release announcement, or treating Pro's marketing positioning as an independent evaluation result.
Applicable model version: DeepSeek-V4-Pro GA; the announcement says the model name remains unchanged, and the API still uses the documented configuration.
Applicable client, Agent, or API: DeepSeek app/web Expert Mode, DeepSeek API, Responses API, and Codex.
Recommended reasoning levels and parameters: The official recommendation is low for simple tasks, high for everyday Agents, and max for complex tasks; this should be verified in your own evals.
Model/version: DeepSeek-V4-Pro GA (announcement dated 2026-08-13).
Tools and runtime environment: API, app/web Expert Mode, Codex/Responses API; the announcement does not provide a standardized benchmark harness.
Input/evaluation method: An official release note and announcement of configuration capabilities, not a question-level evaluation.
The configuration difference disclosed in the announcement is reasoning effort: low, high, and max. It also announces native Responses API support and one-click Codex configuration. It does not disclose the prompt, temperature, number of runs, evaluator, or inputs for each benchmark.
| Officially disclosed information | Verifiable content |
|---|---|
| Agent positioning | The official announcement says there are “major Agent upgrades with strong production gains” |
| Reasoning effort | low/simple, high/daily Agent, max/complex |
| API | V4-Pro is available through the API; the model name remains unchanged |
| Responses/Codex | Native Responses API support, optimized for Codex with one-click setup |
| Product entry point | Expert Mode in the app/web |
| Pricing mechanism | Starting at 16:00 UTC on 2026-08-16, prices for the V4 lineup are updated and peak/off-peak pricing is introduced; off-peak is 50% lower than peak |
The actionable information in the announcement is not a score but a cost/quality workflow: use low/high/max to match the task, prioritize the Responses API and Codex harness, and incorporate peak/off-peak scheduling into the budget. Quality conclusions need to be combined with MindStudio's task data and your own reproduction.
Limitations: The announcement does not disclose question-level benchmarks, a harness, a model snapshot, token data, or latency data; “production gains” is the vendor's wording.
Reproduction steps: Fix the GA API endpoint and request date; run low/high/max separately across three task categories involving simple and complex Agents. Record success rate, tool errors, latency, input/output/reasoning tokens, and peak/off-peak prices, and compare V4-Flash on the same tasks.
Pricing boundary: Peak/off-peak prices and their effective time are time-varying information. Check the official pricing page again before deployment; do not infer a specific amount from the “50%” in the announcement.
The original announcement provides information about V4-Pro GA, reasoning effort, Responses/Codex, Expert Mode, and peak/off-peak pricing; this article does not add scores or parameters that the announcement did not show.
low/high/max are official recommended scenarios, not fixed token limits or quality guarantees for each level.
“The model name remains unchanged” only means that the API name is compatible; it does not mean that preview and GA behave exactly the same. Reproduction must record the date and the model information returned.
High-risk tool operations still require external permissions, logging, and human review.
The announcement describes V4-Pro as having “Major Agent upgrades with strong production gains,” but provides no scores; this article retains the sentence as vendor positioning rather than an evaluation conclusion.
The figures, task set, reasoning tier, and client conditions apply only to the listed source and collection snapshot. Different versions, harnesses, or providers must not be compared directly; undisclosed parameters remain unknown.
For a reproduction, fix the model version, provider or client, reasoning tier, tools, task-set version, sample count, and collection date, and record failures, retries, and human corrections. Full steps are in the source notes below.
DeepSeek API Docs · DeepSeek · Original publication date 2026-08-13 · Site edit date 2026-09-20
Open original sourceDeepSeek V4 Pro
Download the Tabbit client to check model access