Tabbit
ResourcesBlogModels
Tabbit LogoTabbit

Tabbit — The AI Browser that Works for You

Topics

  • AI Browser Resources
  • Agentic Browser Resources
  • Browser Downloads and Install Guides
  • Browser Comparisons
  • AI Browser Alternatives
  • Browser Productivity Resources

Popular Guides

  • AI Browser
  • Agentic Browser Download
  • Best AI Browser 2026: Top 9 Tested & Ranked
  • AI Browser Download
  • Free AI Browser
  • Best AI Browser 2026
  • AI Browser Comparison 2026
  • AI Browser for Windows
  • AI Browser for Mac
  • Chrome Alternative 2026

Events

  • Tabbit Skill Competition
  • KPOP SBTI Fandom Personality Test
  • Tabbit Campus Creator Program
  • fifi's Picks: AI Skills for Research Papers
  • User Survey

About

  • Tabbit Blog
  • Press & Media
English
简体中文English
Reviews and evidence

GPT-5.2 Chat · Official source · Vendor report

GPT-5.2 Family: Official Release Benchmarks and Chat Positioning

OpenAI reports GPT-5.2 professional-work, spreadsheet, and coding results, including 55.6% on SWE-Bench Pro; full harnesses are not public.

Unverified: the original source could not be rechecked. Historical figures below are not current verified results.

Official sourceVendor reportEdited 2026-09-20

Test conditions

Condition
Model/version follows the source; reopened 2026-09-20.
Condition
Task, harness, and sample follow the source; undisclosed fields remain unknown.

Key data and applicable tasks

One-sentence takeaway

Official data positions GPT-5.2 Thinking/Pro as models for complex reasoning, coding, long documents, and tool tasks, but these benchmarks cannot be directly treated as Chat experience scores for gpt-5.2-chat-latest.

Test environment

  • Release versions: GPT-5.2 Instant, GPT-5.2 Thinking, and GPT-5.2 Pro; API-related names include gpt-5.2, gpt-5.2-chat-latest, and gpt-5.2-pro.

  • Inputs/modalities: The official release covers text, images, long context, and tool/Agent scenarios; the specific harness for each benchmark is described separately in the release notes.

  • Configuration: Thinking/Pro use the official evaluation settings; the report does not disclose the complete original inputs, random seeds, or all tool traces for each table.

Inputs/configuration

The official release examples include a workforce planning task and a single-HTML waveform simulator prompt; the release notes also position Instant for everyday work, Thinking for coding, long documents, files, and logic, and Pro for the highest quality requirements.

Results

Representative GPT-5.2 Thinking scores reported officially include: GDPval 70.9%, SWE-Pro 55.6%, SWE Verified 80.0%, GPQA Diamond 92.4%, CharXiv Python 88.7%, HMMT 99.4%, FrontierMath T1–3 40.3%, ARC-AGI-1 86.2%, ARC-AGI-2 52.9%, Tau2 Telecom 98.7%, BrowseComp 65.8%, MCP Atlas 60.6%, and Toolathlon 46.3%. On the long-context MRCR v2 benchmark, the score was 98.2% for 4k–8k 8-needle and 77.0% for 128k–256k.

The official report also says that, compared with GPT-5.1, the frequency of responses containing errors fell by 38% on de-identified ChatGPT queries for GPT-5.2 Thinking; the error detection was performed by a model, and the official report cautions that the detector may be wrong.

Conclusion

For scenarios involving “complex problems + sufficient reasoning/tool budget,” the official data supports using GPT-5.2 Thinking/Pro as strong baselines. If the goal is low-latency conversation aligned with ChatGPT, gpt-5.2-chat-latest should be evaluated separately; Thinking scores cannot simply be transferred to it.

Limitations

  • This is a vendor-reported benchmark, and it does not disclose all original samples, prompts, failure cases, random seeds, or complete cost traces.

  • Different variants, reasoning effort, tools, and server-side paths are mixed together in the release notes; they must be separated by task rather than reduced to a single overall ranking.

  • The Chat version's model page was marked deprecated on 2026-08-18, and its context/output limits on Chat Completions differ from those of gpt-5.2.

  • The 38% is a relative change in the frequency of detected errors, not an absolute accuracy improvement across all user tasks.

Reproduction steps

  1. Specify whether to evaluate gpt-5.2-chat-latest or gpt-5.2/Thinking, and fix the snapshot, API, reasoning, and verbosity.

  2. Run Chat and Thinking separately on the same task set; record inputs, outputs, tool traces, tokens, latency, and error types.

  3. For tasks requiring fresh facts, provide the same search tool consistently; for long-context tests, record the 4k–8k and 128k–256k ranges separately at minimum.

  4. Use the official tables only as a comparison, and do not present scores from an undisclosed harness as an independent reproduction.

What this supports

  • Supports the source-specific finding in “GPT-5.2 Family: Official Release Benchmarks and Chat Positioning”: OpenAI reports GPT-5.2 professional-work, spreadsheet, and coding results, including 55.6% on SWE-Bench Pro; full harnesses are not public.

What this does not support

  • “GPT-5.2 Family: Official Release Benchmarks and Chat Positioning” does not publish a common harness, fixed model snapshot, or independent repeats; the finding cannot establish production success beyond its stated task.

Method, limits, and reproduction

The figures, task set, reasoning tier, and client conditions apply only to the listed source and collection snapshot. Different versions, harnesses, or providers must not be compared directly; undisclosed parameters remain unknown.

For a reproduction, fix the model version, provider or client, reasoning tier, tools, task-set version, sample count, and collection date, and record failures, retries, and human corrections. Full steps are in the source notes below.

Original source

OpenAI News / GPT-5.2 release notes · OpenAI · Original publication date 2025-12-11 · Site edit date 2026-09-20

Open original source

GPT-5.2 Chat

Compare GPT-5.2 Chat in Tabbit

Download the Tabbit client to check model access

Read the full analysis

Overview · English

GPT-5.2 Chat: What It Was, What It Costs, and Where It Still Fits

A sourced GPT-5.2 Chat overview covering the ChatGPT-aligned API route, 128K context, $1.75/$14 pricing, retirement dates, Codex boundaries and migration choices.

Related reviews

SWE-bench Leaderboard: Comparing GPT-5.2 Coding AgentsThe SWE-bench leaderboard compares coding agents by submission and task set; rankings change with versions, scaffolds, and evaluation settings.Reddit Users' Coding and Conversation Experience After the GPT-5.2 LaunchPost-launch Reddit discussion has mixed GPT-5.2 coding and conversation reports, without a common task set, snapshot, or control group.GPT-5.2's Structured Outputs and Ambiguity Self-Check PromptThe official guide emphasizes an output contract, ambiguity handling, and self-checks; this detail targets one parseable structured decision.GPT-5.2 Chat's Responses, Reasoning, and Tool-Calling ConfigurationThe official model guidance calls for explicit tools, permissions, and result handling in Responses; this detail focuses on one replayable tool call.